2023 Emmy Predictions: Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series


We will update this article throughout the season, along with all our predictions, so make sure to keep checking IndieWire for the latest news from the 2023 Emmys race. The nomination round of voting takes place from June 15 to June 26, with the official Emmy nominations announced Wednesday, July 12. The Creative Arts Emmy Awards will be presented over two consecutive nights on Saturday, September 9 and Sunday, September 10, with an edited presentation of the ceremonies to be broadcast on FXX at a later date. Finally, the 75th Annual Primetime Emmy Awards take place on Monday, September 18, and air live on FOX at 8:00 p.m. ET/ 5:00 p.m. PT.

See our previous thoughts on what to expect at the 75th Primetime Emmy Awards here.

The State of the Race

Across the related categories Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series has seen the least change. While there are two new additions, the rest have been nominated multiple times, with three nominees having won the Emmy before for their performance. “Abbott Elementary” star Sheryl Lee Ralph, the current reigning, sort of came as a surprise as “Ted Lasso” had been so dominant, and even co-star Janelle James being the breakout of the ABC series seemed to be more likely Emmy narratives, but the veteran sitcom star’s a capella rendition of “Endangered Species” paired with a rousing speech really won the night.

"In the Stars," part of Season 2 of "Star Wars: Visions"

Tiny Beautiful Things -- “Pilot” - Episode 101 -- We meet Clare as her husband, Danny, has kicked her out of their home for giving her brother Lucas their daughter Rae’s college fund. But an old friend needs someone to take on his advice column Dear Sugar. And it might be exactly what Clare needs. Frankie (Merritt Wever) and Young Clare (Sarah Pidgeon), shown. (Photo by: Elizabeth Morris/Hulu)

Though Season 2 of “Abbott Elementary” as a whole did not have as many highlights as the first season, the scene that has taken on a life of its own outside the show centers on Ralph’s character misremembering celebrity names—a trait the actress revealed is inspired by herself. That simple, delightful two minute clip should be enough of a calling card to secure Ralph enough votes from the TV Academy to win a second time in a row.

However, “The Bear” star Ayo Edebiri not only won an Indie Spirit Award over Ralph, she is currently having a huge year starring in films that premiered at Sundance, SXSW, and Cannes, plus doing voice work in big projects like “Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse,” “Clone High,” and “Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Mutant Mayhem.” Not to mention she even guest-starred on “Abbott Elementary” as creator/star Quinta Brunson’s character’s sister, and just had a second season of “The Bear” premiere to even more stellar reviews than the season she is nominated for. With her star still rapidly rising, it is more likely Edebiri wins this award next year, after people have seen more of what she is capable of, but all the work she still has coming out as strikes put a pause on campaigning definitely keep her top of mind with voters.

In terms of the rest of the field, TV Academy members are probably waiting to give James her due as her Principal Ava character continues to grow, and become an even more important part of the show’s narrative. Same goes for Jessica Williams on “Shrinking,” to a lesser extent. Meanwhile, despite endings that were well-received by fans, there is the sentiment that “Ted Lasso” and “The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel” have already won enough awards, and don’t need recognition again in this category.

Power Rankings:

  1. Sheryl Lee Ralph, “Abbott Elementary” (ABC)
  2. Ayo Edebiri, “The Bear” (Hulu)
  3. Janelle James, “Abbott Elementary” (ABC)
  4. Hannah Waddingham, “Ted Lasso” (Apple TV+)
  5. Alex Borstein, “The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel” (Prime Video)
  6. Jessica Williams, “Shrinking” (Apple TV+)
  7. Juno Temple, “Ted Lasso” (Apple TV+)

Will Win: Sheryl Lee Ralph, “Abbott Elementary”
Could Win:
Ayo Edebiri, “The Bear”
Should Win:
Janelle James, “Abbott Elementary”

More Comedy Category Predictions:
Outstanding Comedy Series
Outstanding Lead Actor in a Comedy Series
Outstanding Lead Actress in a Comedy Series
Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series

To see IndieWire’s full set of predictions for the 75th Emmy Awards click here.

Last Year’s Winner: Sheryl Lee Ralph, “Abbott Elementary”
Still Eligible: Yes.
Hot Streak: Last year was Sheryl Lee Ralph’s first Emmy win for “Abbott Elementary,” so no streak yet, but if she did win again, she would become the first Black actress to win this category twice.
Notable Ineligible Series: Hannah Einbinder, “Hacks” (Season 3 was not eligible)

Source link

Leave a Comment