American Cinematheque Awards Tribute To Helen Mirren Rescheduled For February SuperNayr

Helen Mirren‘s American Cinematheque tribute has a new date.

The Cinematheque announced today that their annual awards show will now take place on Thursday, February 15, 2024 at The Beverly Hilton in Beverly Hills. The event was postponed from its original November 4, 2023 date due to the ongoing SAG-AFTRA strike.

As previously announced,  Mirren who is currently gettting awards buzz for her role as Golda Meir in Golda,  will receive the 37th American Cinematheque Award. Additionally Kevin Goetz & Screen Engine will be honored with the Power Of Cinema Award. 

This is the annual fundraiser for the organization with proceeds benefiting its classic, international, and independent film programs at the Los Feliz 3 Theatre in Los Angeles, the Egyptian Theatre in Hollywood, and the Aero Theatre in Santa Monica. Additionally, a portion of the funds support American Cinematheque’s commitment to diversified programming and audience reach, through engaging with Los Angeles County’s 88 school districts to broaden the AC Educational Screening Series (AC/ESS). This series reinforces students’ educational experience, while cultivating the next generation of film lovers.

This week the American Cinematheque in partnership with Netflix has been unveiling their $70 million restoration of Grauman’s Egyptian, a project initiated to celebrate the 100th anniversary of the opening of the Hollywood landmark.

As a cultural arts organization dedicated to the presentation of film, the American Cinematheque (AC) believes that cinema is a communal experience with the power to entertain, enlighten, and inspire. Previous American Cinematheque Award honorees include: Eddie Murphy (1986); Bette Midler (1987); Robin Williams (1988); Steven Spielberg (1989); Ron Howard (1990); Martin Scorsese (1991); Sean Connery (1992); Michael Douglas (1993); Rob Reiner (1994); Mel Gibson (1995); Tom Cruise (1996); John Travolta (1997); Arnold Schwarzenegger (1998); Jodie Foster (1999); Bruce Willis (2000); Nicolas Cage (2001); Denzel Washington (2002); Nicole Kidman (2003); Steve Martin (2004); Al Pacino (2005); George Clooney (2006); Julia Roberts (2007); Samuel L. Jackson (2008); Matt Damon (2010); Robert Downey Jr. (2011); Ben Stiller (2012); Jerry Bruckheimer (2013); Matthew McConaughey (2014); Reese Witherspoon (2015); Ridley Scott (2016); Amy Adams (2017); Bradley Cooper (2018); Charlize Theron (2019); Spike Lee (2020); Scarlett Johannsson (2021); and Ryan Reynolds (2022).

Source link

Leave a Comment